The Garden Sign Order

Very dear friends asked us to make a garden sign for their daughter, and I said yes, even though I hadn’t done something like this.  So I have been sketching and coloring and dreaming about this order.  Of course it’s turned out to be more complicated than I thought, but the real problem is that I have complicated the whole process.  It’s not enough to roll out the clay and write the words, pick the colors and glaze, and remember to drill our the holes for the wires.  I have to get clever, word play ideas jump in front of my mind and stop the process.  I sketch out several ways of writing the words, make leaves, angels and spaces.  I have designed half dozen already, but only one is in the midst of drying.  Last night I thought of one more way to design and decorate this simple sign.  I didn’t know I could get so bogged down in this, and now I am imagining that I will have to make several…so I can see which one I like the best.

Leave a Reply

