Christmas Ornaments: Swirly Sparkly and Blue Star

Chun Blue Ornament

Chun Blue Ornament

A few weeks ago I made over 150 ornaments for our holiday shows.  And maybe 1/3 of them were decorated with my usual dot, dot, dot, dot, swooping line, dot, dot, dot.   I got bored.

The next time I was confronted with dozens of stars and moons, bells and trees, and hearts, I lined up the colored clay slips: copper red, cobalt blue, chrome green, opaque porcelain and rutile (my personal fave) and put small and medium brushes into each container.  I filled several squeeze bottles (if you are still coloring your hair, those kind, and by the way, we recycle them.  Any and all, in case you feel like mailing them to us!) with the slips, too. I was ready.

I lined up the stars, decided which ones would be which colors and brushed on the base color.  When they were dry enough, I got busy.  Swooping, swirling, dripping, dropping, spattering.  All but place the brush on the clay.  Looser than anything I have done in the past.  Just thinking about it gets my heart racing and I am ready to get back there, again.

More of these will be on the etsy site as soon as I get a new batter for my power hog of a camera.

2 thoughts on “Christmas Ornaments: Swirly Sparkly and Blue Star

  1. Pingback: Christmas Party Online » Blog Archive » Christmas Ornaments: Swirly Sparkly and Blue Star « Ellison Bay …

  2. Pingback: Chrismas Sale Online » Blog Archive » Christmas Ornaments: Swirly Sparkly and Blue Star « Ellison Bay …

Leave a Reply

