Two Blue Moon Ornaments-Cosmic Coolness

Blue Moon Ornament ($7)

Blue Moon Ornament-A ($7)

It is snowing here, and these ornaments seem to reflect winter for me.  Snow is pretty, and winter storms are fun to watch and I enjoy a Snow Day as much as the next kid.  But it is cold and with each birthday I have (in January, too, is that irony or what?) I find I just don’t like being cold or working in the snow.  I leave all the clean up to John.  I feel guilty about that, for sure.

Back when I was dairy farming in Wisconsin I worked outside in the snow for hours everyday.  I was dressed in my Fleet Farm boots and quilted coveralls in the smallest adult male size available, so that meant my cuffs were rolled up on my legs and my arms.  The crotch hung down between my knees and my body.  I felt darned glamorous, I can tell you.  And yes, I did trip over the cuffs.  But I was warm and comfortable.  I wished daily that somewhere someone would make outdoor clothing for women that would fit me and be at least semi-attractive, and not camo, either.

Here is how I make these:  After John wedges the clay for me, I lay out the lumps o’clay on the slab roller and roll it flat.  Then, using a drywall tool, I smooth one side of the clay.  That’s when I decide which cookie cutter I want to work with first, and the colors I want.  I lay everything out before, or at least I try too.  Sometimes I change my mind mid-decorating and that can get in my way when I am in the Pottery Zone.  I began making this for money, of course.  And they sell well.  I used to decorate them in a more organized and thoughtful manner.  This year I was not excited about making the same ol same ol.  I know you know what I mean.

I like these Blue Moons, alot.  I think I like moons and stars, with hearts as a close second. The top ornament has cobalt blue, rutile and porcelain colored clay slips applied on the ornament with no background color applied first.  The second ornament has the cobalt blue slip brushed on before I add the wild and crazy designs.

Blue Moon-B ($7)

Blue Moon Ornament-B ($7)

I began making this for money, of course, and they sell well.  I used to decorate them in a more organized manner.  This year I was not excited about making the same ol same ol.  I know you know what I mean.

Each year I give my children and grandchildren an ornament to mark this Christmas year.  I gave them some of the first ceramic ornaments I ever made.  Looks like I will be saving some of my favorites for next year…and one or two for myself.

Leave a Reply

