Where Do Pottery Ideas Come From? Sometimes YOU ~ Got Some Suggestions?

Take our new poll and then leave a suggestion and/or comment.  In return you could win a one-of-a-kind stoneware dish.

John’s started work on one of our new ideas for this year: ikebana. We’ve been talking about this for a few years, and customers have asked for them. We are slow on the uptake sometimes 😉  So I bought one from Jill a new potter friend of ours to enjoy and study. That way we can enjoy her work and call it R/D!  She inspired us so much he made a half dozen and I ordered the frogs or kenzans, which were delivered yesterday.  Now to bisque fire and glaze those puppies and then after the glaze firing we will see what we want to change.

Another idea is little sculptures of animals from John’s hands to your table or desk.  I like the pit firing results, but he’s got it into his head that glazing will send us into a new direction.  Head’s up everyone: they are NOT whimsical, nor cute.  They will certainly resemble recognizable animals, or rather, suggest other animals you might be familiar with.  Something’s got hold of the makers, so other forces are at work.  I’ll post some pics as soon as I can.

Let’s see, there were other ideas floating at the breakfast table this morning.  Coasters.  My idea and my design.  Irregular shapes with some plants pressed in, I lean towards cedar for some reason, perhaps it is the age of the plant that attracts me, that and the fact that Door County and cedars and swamps play such a large part of my personal story.  I love the smell while working with them, too.

We will still be offering our pit fired mini workshop (Pit Fire Buddies, we call it) this summer on Wednesdays and I am happy about that.  I am also thinking about getting our pit fire book finished finally now that I have been laid off from my 5 week old job I will have more time.  But there are some new ideas along the line of clay classes and master classes (pit fire and throwing are being developed right now.

So there are no shortages of ideas over here.  And that doesn’t answer the frequent question: Where do you get your ideas.  Dunno.  We don’t get them, they pester us.  There are a whole book full and I hope we are here long enough to give all of them a try.

But, we love suggestions from our brilliant, creative and supportive customers, so here’s a chance for you to tell us what you think.

Leave a Reply

