35th Anniversary Celebration: #12 in a Series of 35: Thinking outside the box


There is something intriguing about making boxes.
I keep doing it.
Each one is different. Each one seems to answer a question.
I write stories, essays, pr, blogs, newsletters. Writing takes certain ‘muscles’.
By that I mean, the muscles between my ears, or my arms, or my eyes.
Building pottery boxes takes different muscles and answers different questions.
When I write pr I have a definite purpose in mind and I want people to do certain things and I have to tell them what I want.
When I am in the studio, I let the clay tell me what I am doing. I have to listen, to sit with the clay and let my ideas, thoughts, feelings, worries etc go. Just let it all go.
I have been spending too much time using these writing muscles and not enough time using my ‘get out of my way’ muscles.
Guess what I’m saying is that I am feeling a bit lopsided.

3 thoughts on “35th Anniversary Celebration: #12 in a Series of 35: Thinking outside the box

  1. Pingback: 35th Anniversary Celebration: #12 in a Series of 35: Thinking outside the box

Leave a Reply

