Thanksgiving

I am feverishly roasting a turkey, which really means I woke up early and with John’s help got that turkey stuffed and in the oven.  A little late, as usual.  The tradition continues, the a little late one, I mean.

Everyone I know is telling everyone they know what they are thankful for.

Two years ago, our daughter was in Iraq for Thanksgiving, so obviously I am thankful she is in the States, this year, and driving home RIGHT NOW.

That means, that for this year, my family will all be together, today.  Not X-Mas in December nor our McNeil family X-Mas in January.  This is it.

I better charge my camera’s battery and take lots of photos.  And I’m staying outta the kitchen this year.  I’ve done my bit.  Cleaned my house, made the place welcoming. This year, I get to sit around and enjoy Thanksgiving.  It’s been a long time since I’ve enjoyed it, I am always making everyone else’s memories, and I am happy to do so.  Mine, though, are of the organizing, collecting tables and chairs, making sure we have enough room for everyone, and then planning for the surprise people who usually show up, with, “Oh, that’s right, I forgot to tell you.”

Love those moments

Anyway  we all have our family memories, and mine are as complicated as can be.  This year, I get to make newer and a bit more simpler memories.

One thought on “Thanksgiving

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Thanksgiving « Ellison Bay Pottery Studios -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

